These days, more and more people are watching what they eat. Many people are trying to avoid gluten in their diets because of the negative consequences it can have.
While only a small percentage of people are legitimately unable to digest gluten, many others are wary of the effects that it may be having on their health.
There are many foods out there that you may wonder about when you are transitioning to a gluten-free diet. For instance, is couscous gluten free? If you are a fan of this Mediterranean food, you will want to know whether or not you need to give it up.
Unfortunately, traditional couscous is definitely not a gluten free food. Couscous is a type of very tiny pasta that is usually made from durum wheat. Because of this, it contains gluten. Wheat, barley, and rye are the three most commonly eaten grains that contain gluten.
The good news is that there are alternatives that are gluten-free. As more and more people have started eating foods that do not contain gluten, companies have begun producing varieties that are free of this ingredient.
For instance, you can find brands of couscous that are made from other things, such as brown rice or potato starch.
While these may not taste quite like the traditional couscous, they are certainly acceptable alternatives. You can also try just substituting another grain entirely for the couscous in your favorite recipes. For instance, brown rice or quinoa can both be used in its place.
As you can see, the answer to the question “Is couscous gluten free?” is “no.” However, this does not mean that you can never eat this food again. You will just have to do a bit of searching to find a gluten-free variety that you can eat without any worries.