≡ Menu

Is Rice Gluten Free?

Is Rice Gluten Free? Here is some tips on how to find Safe Rice Brands. The hardest part of following a gluten-free diet is figuring out the foods you can and can’t eat. It’s a good idea to question all of the foods in your pantry. Is your favorite cereal safe to eat? Is rice gluten free?

In most cases, rice does not contain any kind of gluten. With that said, you shouldn’t assume that a food is free of gluten. Instead, you should take a closer look at it before putting it into your body.

Gluten-Free Rice

Any kind of plain rice should be completely free of gluten. White rice, brown rice, or more exotic brands of rice should be safe to eat as long as they are plain.

Rice is not a product that contains gluten. Even glutinous rice does not contain anything that can cause harm to people that are gluten intolerant.

The Rice You Should Avoid

In most cases, if rice contains gluten, it is because it contains additional flavorings. Many flavored rice packets are not gluten free.

In addition, you should be careful about brands of rice that you buy. Even if the rice itself does not contain gluten, it could be contaminated by machinery that has come into contact with gluten products.

The Safest Brands Of Rice

A number of big-name manufacturers are very careful when they package and ship out their rice. If you are shopping for rice, you should try to buy from one of these brands.

Alter Eco, a company that is known for their organic food products, is very careful about the handle their rice. None of their rice is grown on farms that produce gluten, and it does not come into contact with gluten during the manufacturing process.

Lundberg Family Farms sells rice and rice mixes that are completely gluten free. They clearly label all of their products, which means that you can buy from them with confidence.

Zatarain’s, a popular pre-packaged rice manufacturer, sells many types of flavored rice that are certified as gluten free. With that said, you should check the packaging before adding their rice to your cart. They do produce a few products that contain gluten.

Is rice gluten free? It typically is, but you still need to be careful about the rice that you buy. As with many foods, gluten flavoring is always an option. It is better to be safe than sorry when you are buying food. Once you know what to buy, you’ll easily be able to avoid gluten.

Comments on this entry are closed.