Is Popcorn Gluten Free?

Popcorn is one of the most popular snack foods in America. People love to eat popcorn with their lunches, or munch on it while they enjoy a movie.

However, there are a lot of people that are concerned that they might have to give this beloved food up. If you have been diagnosed with celiac disorder, gluten intolerance, or are simply trying to give gluten up, you may be concerned about the impact that popcorn could have on your body.

Is popcorn gluten free? This is a question that many people have asked. You can find the answers to this question below.

Popcorn Does Not Contain Gluten

If you are avoiding gluten, there are certain kinds of food products that you will want to watch out for. Anything that is made using wheat, barley, triticale, or rye. Popcorn is not made from any of those ingredients. Instead, it is made from corn.

Because of this, popcorn can safely be consumed by people that are avoiding gluten. The majority of popcorn products sold on the market are completely gluten free.

Why You Should Show Caution

Although popcorn is gluten free, you shouldn’t necessarily run out to the store and buy the biggest bag of popcorn you can find. You will still want to be careful about the products that you purchase.

There are two things you should look out for when purchasing popcorn. First, you watch out for any additional ingredients that the popcorn contains. If the popcorn is flavored with malt or barley, it is not going to be free of gluten.

Secondly, you should find out where the popcorn is being made. If the popcorn is produced by a snack manufacturer that produces gluten snack foods, the product may contain trace amounts of gluten.

What Popcorn Can Be Eaten Safely?

There are plenty of popcorn brands that are completely safe for people with gluten intolerance to eat. Orville Redenbacher’s is a safe brand, as is Jiffy Pop.

For the most part, the popular Act II brand is also safe to eat. With that said, there is one variety that does contain gluten. The Extreme Butter flavor contains a lot of additives, and as a result, it contains small amounts of gluten. With that said, any other flavor can be enjoyed safely.

Is popcorn gluten free? In most cases, it absolutely is. With that said, you should keep an eye on the ingredients that you are putting into your body.

Comments on this entry are closed.