≡ Menu

Is Ice Cream Gluten Free?

It can be hard to give up foods that have gluten in them. A lot of beloved treats, included baked goods, are full of gluten.

With that said, you won’t have to give up everything. Ice cream is something a lot of people on gluten-free diets enjoy.

But is ice cream gluten free? In some cases, it may not be.

Why Some Types Of Ice Cream Contain Gluten

Many people are shocked when they realize that some ice cream brands contain gluten. After all, ice cream is a dairy product. Why would it contain  a wheat protein?

In the majority of cases, ice creams use gluten for additional flavoring. Malt ice creams frequently contain gluten, and some chocolate ice creams contain gluten as well.

In addition, cross contamination is always a risk for processed foods. If the ice cream is being made at a plant that deals with gluten products, the ice cream may be impacted by that gluten residue.

When you are shopping for ice cream products, you should seek out flavors that are clearly labeled as gluten free. That way, you won’t have to worry when you sit down with a bowl of ice cream.

The Safest Ice Cream Brands

A lot of popular ice cream brands clearly label whether or not their products contain gluten. If you buy from one of these brands, finding safe flavors will only take a few minutes.

Ben & Jerry’s works with their suppliers to ensure that cross contamination is not an issue. In addition, their labels say whether or not the flavor contains wheat, malt, or other gluten ingredients.

Breyer’s Ice Cream has more than 30 flavors that are completely free of gluten. These flavors include Cherry Vanilla, Butter Pecan, and Chocolate Peanut Butter. All of their gluten-free ice creams are labeled clearly.

Häagen-Dazs is known for their luxurious ice cream flavors. Many of their products are gluten-free, and all of the ice creams that they sell are labeled clearly.

If you are a fan of gelato, you don’t have anything to be concerned about. Talenti, the most popular store bought gelato brand, sells ice creams that are certified as safe by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization.

Brands To Avoid

Blue Bell ice cream is fairly popular, but it simply isn’t safe for people avoiding gluten. Many of their ice cream recipes contain wheat flour. While a few of their products are made without flour, none of their ice creams are made in a gluten-free facility.

You should also avoid ice cream brands that don’t label their products clearly. You deserve to know whether or not the products you are buying contain gluten ingredients. If the manufacturer isn’t labeling their products carefully, you shouldn’t assume that they are safe to eat.

Is ice cream gluten free? It usually is, but that doesn’t mean that you should assume it is good to eat. Gluten can pop up in all kinds of foods. If you are going to eliminate gluten from your diet, you will have to be careful.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Next post:

Previous post: