Are Lentils Gluten Free?

When people adopt a gluten-free diet, they have to work to transform the way that they eat. This means trying out a number of new foods. This can be exciting. If you are giving up gluten, you can add some tasty new dishes to your palette.

However, before you add a new food to your diet, you will have to ensure that the food is truly safe to eat. You should confirm that every food item you buy is gluten free.

Are lentils gluten free? Are they safe to eat? You’ll learn more about lentils below.

Do Lentils Contain Gluten?

Lentils, a member of the legume family, are completely free of gluten. A lentil dish will always be safe to eat unless gluten ingredients have been added to it. Because of this, a lot of people on gluten-free diets make a point of eating more lentils.

The Benefits Of Eating Lentils

Lentils are a tasty and filling gluten-free food. They are rich in protein, and they are a staple of diets all around the world.

With that said, there are additional benefits to eating lentils. Lentils are loaded with magnesium and zinc, which can improve the health of the gut.

People often give up gluten because they have serious digestive issues. If you eat more lentils, you can correct some of those issues and get some much-needed relief. If you are still struggling with stomach pain and discomfort, lentils may be able to correct those problems.

When Lentils Should Be Avoided

While lentils themselves are gluten free, not every product that contains lentils are safe to eat. If you are buying a pre-packaged lentil product, you will have to look over the label. Make sure that the product does not contain barley are malt; both of these ingredients may contain gluten.

Lentils could also come into contact with gluten when they are being packaged. Because of this, you should be careful about the types of lentils that you buy at the store. If possible, you should try to buy from brands that are certified as gluten free.

Are lentils gluten free? They are, but that doesn’t mean that you can enjoy lentil dishes without issue. You should always check the labels on products, and you should always try to confirm that products are truly gluten free.

Cross contamination and additional flavorings are a serious problem. Thankfully, manufacturers are being more careful about how they label and package their products.

Comments on this entry are closed.