Becoming gluten free can be difficult. However, things can be made easier if you know the basics on what to look for. For this reason, we have come up with a guideline that you can follow in order to be on your way to a happy and gluten free diet and lifestyle. In this article, we will be going over some of the basics of a gluten free diet and a gluten free foods list.
Guidelines For a Gluten Free Diet – Different Gluten Free Foods:
1. Milk, butter, cheese, Greek yogurt, ice cream, and margarine.
2. Vegetable oils.
3. Plain fruits, vegetables, potatoes, eggs, nut butters, nuts, legumes, and beans.
4. Distilled vinegar.
5. Distilled alcoholic beverages.
6. Mono fats.
7. Pure spices.
All of these foods are gluten free. As long as there are no gluten containing ingredient add on’s to ice cream, you can enjoy it without worrying about ingesting gluten. When it comes to vinegar, you are going to want to make sure that you only utilize distilled vinegar as the distillation process is what effectively removes the gluten. Therefore, malt vinegar is not gluten free.
When it comes to alcoholic beverages, you are also going to need to opt for distilled alcohol because as with vinegar, the distillation process is what effectively removes the gluten. As far as spices are concerned, as long as the spices are pure and have no added ingredients on the label, you should be good to go as the spices will be completely free from gluten.
Foods That Contain Gluten:
1. Wheat in every form.
2. Most ingredients with wheat in the name.
3. Malt and barley.
5. Foods that are fried in same oil as various breaded products.
When it comes to knowing what foods contain gluten, the list above should be avoided. Wheat is something that you are likely going to want to completely avoid at all costs. This includes kamut, spelt, durum, semolina, cake flour, and even couscous. Wheat can be found in a variety of bread, cookies, cereal, crackers, pasta, and even pizza crusts.
With that being said, it can actually turn up in a variety of other kinds of products as well. For this reason, it is important to read the labels of the food that you purchase in order to be 100% sure that the food does not contain any of these common wheat ingredients.
Pretty much any product that contains an ingredient with wheat in it’s name is going to be something that you should avoid. However, buckwheat is something that is completely gluten free, so it can be seen as one of the only exceptions.
When it comes to barley and malt, you will want to avoid both. This includes malt syrup, malt flavoring, extract, and vinegar. All of these things are going to contain gluten.
Rye is typically found in a variety of bread products and it is something that is not typically going to be used to make any kind of food or ingredient. Therefore, you can simply avoid eating rye bread.
When the breading of a fried food is made with wheat, it is going to contain gluten. Therefore, it is best to avoid any food that is going to be or can potentially be fried with breading that contains wheat.
Licorice is something that is made with wheat flour, so it is something that you will definitely want to avoid. This includes all of the other candy on the market that contains either barley or wheat.
In the end, maintaining a gluten free diet may take a lot of work. However, there are more options to those that are looking to remain gluten free than there has ever been before. Now that it is becoming more mainstream to adhere to a gluten free diet, a lot of super markets and chain stores are beginning to offer full aisles of different gluten free options and foods.
Therefore, you should be able to find and shop for gluten free ingredients and foods easier than ever before. Simply follow the guidelines discussed in this gluten free foods list and you should be able to do so successfully without accidentally getting gluten into your diet.